How many Argentine provinces are there?

How many Argentine provinces are there?

twenty-three provinces
Argentina is a federation of twenty-three provinces (Spanish: provincias, singular provincia) and one autonomous city (ciudad autónoma), Buenos Aires. The provinces and the capital exist in a federal system but have their own constitutions.

What are the 6 regions of Argentina?


  • Northwest: Jujuy, Salta, Tucumán, Catamarca, and La Rioja.
  • Chaco: Chaco, Formosa, and Santiago del Estero.
  • Mesopotamia: Misiones, Corrientes, and Entre Ríos.
  • Pampas: Buenos Aires, Santa Fe, La Pampa, Córdoba.
  • Cuyo: Mendoza, San Luis, and San Juan.

Which province is Buenos Aires in?

Buenos Aires, provincia (province), eastern Argentina. It lies south of the Paraná River and southeast of the Río de la Plata (which forms the border with Uruguay) and extends westward from the Atlantic Ocean to include the major part of the humid Argentine Pampas, a vast grass-covered plain.

What are the 4 major regions in Argentina?

The country is divided into four regions: The Andes, the North, the Pampas, and Patagonia.

What are the provinces of Argentina?

Province: These divisions are provincias (provinces),except for Ciudad de Buenos Aires (an autonomous city).

  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Codes from ISO 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4.
  • IATA: Codes from the IATA Airline Coding Directory,used to locate airports by province.
  • How many provinces does Argentina have?

    Buenos Aires

  • Catamarca
  • Chaco
  • Ciudad de Buenos Aires (distrito federal)
  • Chubut
  • Córdoba
  • Corrientes
  • Entre Ríos
  • Formosa
  • Jujuy
  • Is Argentina divided into provinces states and regions?

    Argentina is a federal republic divided into 24 administrative regions, which include 23 provinces and one autonomous city. These provinces have their own governments, which are autonomous from the federal government, and further subdivided into departments and municipalities.

    What are the regions of Argentina?

    On the island of Tierra del Fuego, which encompasses the southernmost part of Chile and Argentina, the Carbajal Valley, seen here from above, holds one of the area’s largest peat bogs. Peatlands play a critical role in mitigating floodwater, holding fresh drinking water, and storing carbon absorbed from the atmosphere.