What are the 4 different instrument categories?

What are the 4 different instrument categories?

These characteristics ultimately divide instruments into four families: woodwinds, brass, percussion, and strings.

What are non Western instruments?

Musical Instruments : Non-Western

  • Accordion.
  • Banjo.
  • Fiddle.
  • Guitar (Electric)
  • Mandolin.

What are the four Western instruments?

The four families of Western instruments are strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion. String instruments (chordophones) are sounded by bowing and plucking. Bowed strings include violin, viola, cello, and double bass; plucked strings include harp and guitar.

What are the four instrumental section of Western orchestra?

The typical orchestra is divided into four groups of instruments: strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion. The typical Western marching band, school band, or wind ensemble (woodwinds and brass together are winds) leaves out the strings, but otherwise uses most of the same instruments as the orchestra.

What are the different categories of musical instruments?

The great majority of musical instruments fall readily into one of six major categories: bowed strings, woodwind, brass, percussion, keyboard, and the guitar family, the first four of which form the basis of the modern symphony orchestra.

What are different types of instruments?

There are five main instrument families: strings, woodwind, brass, keyboards, and percussion.

What are examples of non-Western music?

Contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music – Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

What is Western and non-Western music?

They are what makes Western music sound familiar and easy to understand. Non-Western music is any music that grew out of a different culture or musical tradition than the European. For someone who grew up listening to Western music, Non-Western music will have a recognizably exotic sound.

What are the five categories of Western musical instruments?


  • Introduction.
  • The String Family.
  • The Woodwind Family.
  • The Brass Family.
  • The Percussion Family.

What are Western instruments?

The standard instrumental groups of Western chamber music include the string quartet (two violins, viola, and violoncello), the woodwind quintet (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon), the combinations employed in sonatas (one wind or stringed instrument with piano), and the brass quintet (frequently two trumpets.

What are the four main sections of the orchestra name and describe each one?

The Four Sections refers to the four sections of the orchestra: strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion.

What are the different types of instruments?

Instruments are classified using 5 different categories depending on the manner in which the instrument creates the sound: Idiophones, Membranophones, Chordophones, Aerophones, & Electrophones.

What are the three main parts of a surgical instrument?

They have three main parts: a handle which goes in the assistant’s hand, a blade which goes into the patient and a shaft in-between (Figure 5). The blades come in many different shapes, including hooks, teeth, right angles and curves.

Do surgeons have different names for different instruments?

It is likely that individual hospitals, scrub teams and surgeons will have different names for the same pieces of kit. That being said, instruments can be categorised by their utility (or rather, what you use them for). Instruments may be used for manipulation, retraction, cutting, suturing, suction and other purposes.

What are the different types of suction instruments?

There are many different shapes of suckers (small and fine-tipped, or large to prevent blockages) depending on the operation being performed (Figure 11). Figure 11. Surgical suction 11 Dilators : blunt probe-like instruments used for stretching lumens, such as the urethra.