What are the EU language levels?

What are the EU language levels?

Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR)

A Beginners level A1 A2
B Intermediate level B1 B2
C Advanced level C1 C2

What does language level A1 A2 B1 B2 C1 and C2 mean?

A1 (Beginner) A2 (Elementary) B1 (Pre-Intermediate) B2 (Intermediate) C1 (Upper-Intermediate)

Is C2 the highest level of English?

C2 Proficiency, formerly known as Cambridge English: Proficiency (CPE), is one of our Cambridge English Qualifications. It is our highest-level qualification – proof that you are a highly competent speaker of English. A C2 Proficiency qualification shows the world that you have mastered English to an exceptional level.

How many language levels are there?

So, what exactly are the different levels of language learning? Well, many teachers and experts around the world use the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). The CEFR has six levels from beginner (A1) to very advanced (C2).

What level of French is considered fluent?

B2 – Fluent speaker (independant speaker) You are at ease to communicate in a spontaneous way. You can work in French and there will be not hiccups in your communication with French people. You can express yourself in a clear and detailed way on a wide range of topics.

What percentage of EU pupils learn two or more foreign languages?

In a majority of EU Member States, more than three fifths of all upper secondary education pupils were learning two or more foreign languages in 2018; by contrast, this share reached only 12.5 % in Ireland, 5.8 % in Portugal and 1.0 % in Greece. Infographic 1: What proportion of pupils learn two or more foreign languages?

What are the levels of learning in the common European Framework?

The Common European Framework divides learners into three broad divisions that can each be further divided into two levels; for each level, it describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing. The following table indicates these levels.

What is the EU Linguistic Assessment System?

Its main aim is to provide a method of learning, teaching and assessing that applies to all languages in Europe . It was put together by the Council of Europe as the main part of the project “Language Learning for European Citizenship” between 1989 and 1996.

What are the different levels of competence in a language?

A language user can develop various degrees of competence in each of these domains and to help describe them, the CEFR has provided a set of six Common Reference Levels (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2).