What are the four lineages of Tibetan Buddhism?

What are the four lineages of Tibetan Buddhism?

Tibetan Buddhism has four major schools, namely Nyingma (c. 8th century), Kagyu (11th century), Sakya (1073), and Gelug (1409).

What is a lineage holder in Tibetan Buddhism?

A lineage in Buddhism is a line of transmission of the Buddhist teaching that is “theoretically traced back to the Buddha himself.” The acknowledgement of the transmission can be oral, or certified in documents.

Are the Drikung Kagyu and the Rinpoche brothers?

^ A Brief History of the Drikung Kagyu “A system of two lineage holders was established, that of the elder (Chetsang) and the younger (Chungtsang) brother.” They aren’t considered brothers by blood, but by lineage. Chetsang Rinpoche is considered an emanation of Chenrezig.

What are the origins of Drikung Kagyü?

Like with all other Kagyu lineages, origins of Drikung Kagyü can be traced back to the Great Indian Master Tilopa who passed on his teachings to Mahasiddha Naropa who lived around 10th and 11th century. The founder of the Drikung Kagyü lineage was Jigten Sumgön (1143-1217) of the Kyura clan, who was the disciple of Phagmo Drupa.

What is the Drikung Kagyu monastery?

The first and main Drikung Kagyü monastery is Drikung Thil Monastery, founded in 1179 by Jigten Sumgön approximately 150 kilometers northeast of Lhasa . Aside from the Drikung Valley in Ü, the Drikung Kagyu has a strong presence in Nangqên County in what was Kham, in western Tibet (including Kailash), and in Ladakh.

What is the Drikung lineage?

Another unique feature of the Drikung lineage is its female dharmapāla, Achi Chokyi Drolma. The great-grandmother of Jigten Sumgön, she prophesied his birth and vowed to protect those in his lineage. She is unusual in that she is both a female protector and an enlightened bodhisattva that can be taken as an iṣṭadevatā in meditation practice.