Which animal is a cetacean?

Which animal is a cetacean?

Cetacea is an infraorder that comprises the 94 species of whales, dolphins, and porpoises. It is divided into toothed whales (Odontoceti) and baleen whales (Mysticeti), which diverged from each other some time in the Eocene 26 to 17 million years ago (mya).

Which type of mammal is a cetacean?

Baleen whales also have a well developed sense of smell. Toothed whales, in contrast, have conical teeth adapted to catching fish or squid….Whale.

Whale An informal group within the infraorder Cetacea Temporal range: Eocene – Present
Class: Mammalia
Order: Artiodactyla
Clade: Cetaceamorpha
Infraorder: Cetacea

What are 5 examples of cetaceans?

dolphin family (Delphinidae)

  • dolphins (various genera) bottlenose dolphin (genus Tursiops)
  • grampus (Grampus griseus)
  • killer whale (Orcinus orca)
  • pilot whales (genus Globicephala)

Is a sea lion a cetacean?

Marine mammals are classified into four different taxonomic groups: cetaceans (whales, dolphins, and porpoises), pinnipeds (seals, sea lions, and walruses), sirenians (manatees and dugongs), and marine fissipeds (polar bears and sea otters).

What are the smallest marine mammals?

As members of the weasel or mustelid family, southern sea otters are the smallest marine mammal.

Is an otter a pinniped?

Two Alaska marine mammals are neither pinniped nor cetacean: the polar bear and sea otter. They are both fissipeds, “split-footed” members of the order Carnivora, and are more closely related to terrestrial carnivores, like weasels, than seals or whales.

Is an orca a cetacean?

While all whales, dolphins and porpoises fall under the order of Cetacea, the orca’s teeth are what classify them under the suborder Odontoceti, making them “toothed whales.” The orca’s teeth can grow to be up to around four inches long.

What types of mammals are classified as cetaceans?

– Kangaroo – Koala – Tasmanian devil – Womba

What are animals that are cetacean?

cetacean, (order Cetacea), any member of an entirely aquatic group of mammals commonly known as whales, dolphins, and porpoises. The ancient Greeks recognized that cetaceans breathe air, give birth to live young, produce milk, and have hair—all features of mammals.

What animals are Cetacea?

cestodes ( cestoda)

  • Tetrabothrium
  • Diplogonoporus
  • Phyllobothrium
  • Monorygma
  • trematodes ( Trematoda)
  • acanthocephalans ( Acanthocephala)
  • Bolbosoma
  • Corynosoma
  • nematodes ( Nematoda)
  • What are the defining characteristics of cetaceans?

    – Most diverse suborder of Cetaceans – Asymmetry of cranial bones – Telescoped maxilla extends supraorbitally