Who are the past presidents of Ghana?

Who are the past presidents of Ghana?

Fourth Republic (1993–present)

No. Name (Birth–Death) Elected
(10) Jerry Rawlings (1947–2020) 1992 1996
11 John Kufuor (born 1938) 2000 2004
12 John Atta Mills (1944–2012) 2008

Who was the first black President of Ghana?

Kwame Nkrumah

The Right Honourable Kwame Nkrumah PC
Nkrumah in 1961
1st President of Ghana
In office 1 July 1960 – 24 February 1966
Preceded by Elizabeth II as Queen of Ghana

How old is Lordina Mahama?

59 years (March 6, 1963)Lordina Mahama / Age

How many presidents have there been?

There have been 46 presidencies (including the current one, Joe Biden, whose term began in 2021), and 45 different individuals have served as president. Grover Cleveland was elected to two nonconsecutive terms, and as such is considered the 22nd and 24th president of the United States.

Who was the president of the Third Republic of Ghana?

Limann assumed office as president on 24 September 1979. He was an economic moderate, and supported democratic values and Pan-Africanism. He was deposed in a coup by Rawlings on 31 December 1981. He thus was the only president of the third republic of Ghana.

How old is John Mahama?

63 years (November 29, 1958)John Mahama / Age

Who was the president of Ghana in the Second Republic?

From 31 August 1970 until his deposition by coup d’état on 13 January 1972, Akufo-Addo was President of Ghana in the Second Republic. Real power rested with the prime minister, Dr. Kofi Abrefa Busia.

Who are the presidents of Ghana in order?

Presidents of Ghana – A Comprehensive List 1 Kwame Nkrumah. 2 Joseph Arthur Ankrah. 3 Akwasi Afrifa. 4 Nii Amaa Ollennu. 5 Edward Akufo-Addo. 6 Ignatius Kutu Acheampong. 7 Fred Akuffo. 8 Jerry Rawlings. 9 Hilla Limann. 10 John Kufuor.

Who was the first president of Ghana in 1970?

Nii Ollennu was an interim president of Ghana who was inaugurated into office on 7 August 1970 as an acting president and his term ended on the 31 August 1970. At that time, he was also the Chairman of the Presidential Commission. 5. Edward Akufo-Addo

Where does the president of Ghana live?

The President of Ghana’s official residence was Osu Castle (also known as Fort Christiansborg or Christiansborg Castle) in Accra.