What are the 7 classifications of a zebra?

What are the 7 classifications of a zebra?


  • Kingdom: Animalia.
  • Phylum: Chordata.
  • Class: Mammalia.
  • Order: Perissodactyla.
  • Family: Equidae.
  • Genus: Equus.
  • Species: Equus quagga – plains or common zebra (Boddaert, 1785)
  • **Subspecies: E. q. boehmi. Subspecies: E. q. borensis. Subspecies: E. q. burchellii. Subspecies: E. q. chapmani. Subspecies: E. q. crawshayi.

What makes mountain zebra unique?

The most distinct feature of both mountain zebra species is a square flap of skin or dewlap on the throat which is best developed on the males. Mountain zebras have black and white stripes all over their bodies except their stomachs, which are white.

What is the difference between zebra and mountain zebra?

Burchell’s zebra can be mistaken for the mountain zebra, but the stripes on the legs (fading stripes in Burchell’s zebra vs. clear stripes on mountain zebra) and belly are distinct (in the mountain zebra, the belly is all white with no stripes).

What is the scientific name of a mountain zebra?

Equus zebraMountain zebra / Scientific name

What is a zebras domain?

Domain Eukarya: Zebras are in the domain Eukarya because they are multi celled organisms with membrane organelles. Kingdom Animalia: The zebra is in the kingdom Animalia because they have no cell wall, have a gametic life cycle, and are heterotrophic.

How many types of zebras are there?

Grévy’s zebra
Mountain zebraPlains zebra
Zebra/Representative species

Why are mountain zebras endangered?

Habitat Loss Conversion of much of the mountain zebra’s habitat for agricultural production contributes heavily to the animal’s endangered status. Although mountain zebras historically lived all over southern Africa, the Cape mountain zebra now exists only on nationally protected wildlife preserves.

What is zebra movement?

The Zebra movement is a founder-driven, grassroots effort, grounded in a different set of ideals . “Zebras Fix What Unicorns Break” invited those who share our values and ambitions to help make another reality possible.

How many zebra types are there?

How many species of zebra are there?

What is the classification for a plains zebra?

Equus quaggaPlains zebra / Scientific name