What is ATEX cert?

What is ATEX cert?

What is ATEX certification? ATEX Certification is a product regulation which ensures the safety of equipment intended for use in potentially explosive atmospheres in the European Union.

What is ATEX Zone 1 certification?

ATEX Zones Zone 1 – a place in which an explosive atmosphere consisting of a mixture with air of flammable substances in form of gas, vapor or mist is likely to occur in normal operation occasionally.

What is explosion proof classification?

NEC ENCLOSURE CLASSIFICATIONS. Explosion-Proof Enclosure: An enclosure which can withstand the pressures resulting from an internal explosion of specified gases, and contain such an explosion sufficiently to prevent the ignition of the explosive atmosphere surrounding the enclosure (for Class I, II and III).

How do you know if ATEX is rated?

If a product / piece of equipment has official ATEX certification, it has been fully tested and approved to be safe to use in hazardous / explosive atmospheres. ATEX approved equipment must show the official ‘Ex’ logo shown here.

What is the difference between UL and ATEX?

In North America products are listed by UL (Underwriters Laboratories, a global safety consulting and certification company based in the US and 45 other countries) under what level of Class and Division the product is suitable for, whilst ATEX uses certified bodies to classify products for use in the EU.

What is difference between Zone 1 and Zone 2?

Zone 1: An area in which an explosive gas atmosphere is likely to occur in normal operation; Zone 2: An area in which an explosive gas atmosphere is not likely to occur in normal operation and, if it occurs, will only exist for a short time.

Is explosion proof equipment ATEX certified?

Our own ATEX Certified Explosion Proof Equipment are good examples of products that come with an ATEX certificate. It may therefore be used safely in specified hazardous areas. What are the applicable ATEX directives?

What are the different explosion proof classifications?

Explosion Proof Classifications Class Definitions Class I Locations: Are those in which flammable gases or vapors are or may be present in the air in quantities sufficient to produce explosive or ignitable mixtures. Class II Locations: Are those which are hazardous due to the presence of combustible dust. Class III

What are the requirements for ATEX certification?

For an ATEX certificate approval the areas will be divided by explosion hazard – risk zones. Place of use and zoning, as well as ignition type and protection levels are govern the requirements placed on components, units and devices. Rexroth gives you access to a wide variety of hydraulic and electric drives with ATEX certification.

How does ExEx-proof classify atmosphere?

Ex-proof uses classes (1 and 2) to distinguish between explosive gas and dust atmospheres. Subdivisions are then used to categorise the type of gas (A, B, C, D) and dust (E, F, G).